Passing Time

Today’s my four month unemployed anniversary. I celebrated yesterday by lying on the couch and watching an obscene amount of television while feeling sorry for myself. The upside of that is that I’m all caught up on Nashville and Downton Abbey, but I still have one more Sherlock episode to watch. I’ll admit I almost panicked when I realized that network shows appear to all be on hiatus now. I say “almost,” because I realized that there’s two weeks of Olympics to fill in that time. What can I say? I like watching television.

Things do seem to be picking up a bit on the actual job hunting front. I had an interview last week. And I have one tomorrow and another lined up for next week. For two of them, the potential employers contacted me after being forwarded my resume. So all those cups of coffee with contacts of contacts might just start to be paying off. I think the ratio of coffee meetings to referrals is about 20:1. It’s not a great rate of return, but it was good enough to get me off the couch — for today anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment