When I first got laid off, I was very strict about not watching tv during the day. I’d usually watch The Daily Show while I was eating my lunch, but after that I’d turn the tv right off. Things have gotten a little more relaxed around here lately. A couple of months ago I sat down to eat lunch. I was flipping through the channels, and I came across the pilot episode of The Good Wife, a show I somehow had never seen. Before I knew it I’d sat through three or four episodes. I’m pretty sure the only reason I stopped watching that day was because I had to leave the house to go to a friend’s for dinner (I can’t remember exactly, but it seems like only a free meal would have done it).

I haven’t binged watched many shows. A couple of winters ago, I plowed through five seasons of Friday Night Lights in an embarrassingly/impressively short time. There are things you notice about a show when you watch more than one episode every week. When Season 4 of Arrested Development came back last year, I watched it pretty quickly, but I feel like it was kind of designed for that. The Good Wife has a few…we’ll just call them quirks that are very noticeable when you watch back-to-back (ok, some days back-to-back-to-back) episodes. All the characters say “phone” rather than “call.” As in, “Phone me later,” “He never phoned me,” or “I’ll phone you when I hear.” I don’t know that I’ve ever heard anyone in real life say “Phone me.” The other annoying thing is that every day when Alicia (Julianna Margulies) gets home she tosses her keys on the table by the door, puts down her purse, and goes to get a glass of wine or talk to her kids or opens the fridge to get something to eat. All without ever taking off her coat. I’m not talking about her suit jacket, but her overcoat. The show’s set in Chicago, and it’s apparently always cold, because she’s usually wearing what looks like a winter coat. Which she never takes off in her home. I don’t know why this bothers me, but it does. Although not enough to stop watching it as quickly as I can!

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

