For your weekend: Amy recommends what you should be reading and watching

I do spend a certain amount of time every week job hunting, crafting the perfect cover letter and meeting anyone who will meet me for coffee. But let’s face it, that’s not filling my days. In addition to sleeping a lot, I watch a lot of tv and movies, and I’ve been reading a ton.

I just finished reading A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki, which I loved. It’s partly the story of a Japanese teenager writing her diary, and partly the story of the writer who lives on an island off of Vancouver who finds the diary when it washes up on her beach. I can’t explain it, but it’s great and you should read it. And now I really want to learn Japanese. 

In addition to my regular tv viewing, I just started watching the first season of Game of Thrones. My sister sent me the first book and the first season DVDs awhile back. I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to like it, because I’ve never really been a fan of what I’ll call fantasy. Also, the book is 800 pages long. I asked her if I could skip reading the book and go straight to the tv show. She said I could, but that she thought I’d like it better if I read the book first. I felt like I should at least make a good faith attempt at starting the book, although I had no intention of actually reading the whole thing. But it really sucks you in, and I found I couldn’t stop reading. It’s super violent, but you can skim over that in the book. And since I’ve read/skimmed the violence in the book, I don’t have to pay close attention to those scenes on tv. The other bonus of reading the book is that it has a cheat sheet of who the characters are and how they’re related. Or maybe I’m the only one who had to refer to that repeatedly. One thing about GOT is that it’s not really binge watching material. Although now that I know I have three other seasons to catch up on, I might pick up the pace a bit.

Anyway, those are my recommendations for the week. That should keep you busy through the weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

